Trio return for Redruth’s visit

Centre Sam Grimshaw, hooker Ollie Stone and tighthead prop Stefan Thorp will all start for Bournville in Saturday’s National Two West match against Redruth at Avery Fields (3.00pm).

Grimshaw sat out last weekend’s defeat at league leaders Luctonians because of injury but he has regained fitness and resumes his centre partnership with former Scotland international Alex Grove.

Stone and Thorp both impressed when they came off the bench in the second-half at Luctonians and they will start against Redruth, swapping places with Clarkson McLeod and Ryan Smeilus who have been named among the replacements.

Lock Nick Murphy, who was ruled out of the Luctonians trip by a hand injury, returns to the squad as a replacement with Louis Mifsud again named as a starter in the second row.

Sam Wilson, who started in the centre last week, and Josh Bloomfield, who came off the bench, are the backs’ replacements.

Redruth make the long trip north in seventh place in the table, the same position that Old Redcliffians occupied before their defeat at Avery Fields two weeks ago.

Bournville were edged out 28-26 at Redruth in September but won 52-40 when the sides met at Avery Fields last March, an important victory on the road to securing safety.

This season Redruth have won eight and drawn two of their first 16 matches with two of those victories coming on the road – at Hornets and Dudley Kingswinford.

Bournville | 15 Owen Williams; 14 Alex Evans, 13 Alex Grove, 12 Sam Grimshaw, 11 Nathan Decalmer; 10 Jacob Fewtrell, 9 Jay West; 1 James Burgoyne, 2 Ollie Stone, 3 Stef Thorp, 4 Ben Meakin, 5 Louis Mifsud, 6 Lewis Hall, 7 Chris Idehen (C), Jonjo Fanning.

Replacements | 16 Clarkson McLeod, 17 Ryan Smeilus, 18 Nick Murphy, 19 Sam Wilson, 20 Josh Bloomfield.

Wing Will Aylen and back-row forward Jack Holdaway, who were first team replacements at Luctonians, both start for Bournville Blues in Saturday’s club match against Wolverhampton at Castlecroft (2.15pm).

15 Niall Demel; 14 Abraham Jones, 13 Will Aylen, 12 Phil Valegatu, 11 Aaron Esiri; 10 Kristers Krupenciks, 9 Ollie Daffey; 1 Jake Whitmarsh, 2 Dan Hood, 3 Mantas Urbonavicius, 4 Harry Belcher, 5 Matt Spence, 6 Jamie Avery, 7 Jamie Allison, 8 Jack Holdaway.

Replacements | 16 Dan Marina, 17 Sam Beckford.

Latest News