Fewtrell and Fanning to start against DK

Jacob Fewtrell and Jonjo Fanning return to the starting XV for Bournville’s last match of 2023, a local derby against Dudley Kingswinford at Heathbrook on Saturday (2pm).

Both impressed when they came on as replacements in the second-half of last Saturday’s victory over Hornets at Avery Fields and will start this week as Bournville begin the second half of their league programme.

Fewtrell swaps places with Rhys Williams at fly-half with Fanning starting at number eight. Chris Idehen will switch back to his usual position of openside flanker to accommodate Fanning with Louis Mifsud, a late inclusion against Hornets, starting at blindside.

There is a new name on the bench with hooker Ben Pogson, who has been signed on loan from Championship club Ampthill, coming straight into the matchday squad.

Pogson previously played for Wasps having progressed through their academy system and signed for Ampthill during the summer following Wasps’ demise.

Prop Ryan Smeilus returns to the first team squad as a replacement for the first time since late October with Lewis Hall also named among the replacements.

Bournville head to Heathbrook looking to complete a double over DK who were beaten 29-22 in sweltering conditions at Avery Fields in September.

DK are currently bottom of the table, having promoted as Regional One Midlands champions last season but their two wins, against Newport and Chester, have both come at home.

This will be Bournville’s first league visit to Heathbrook in more than seven years and it is a ground that they have enjoyed some success on winning league games there in 2016, 2015 and 2014 and two North Midlands Cups with victories over Worcester in 2013 and Old Halesonians four years later.

Bournville | 15 Owen Williams; 14 Alex Evans, 13 Sam Grimshaw, 12 Sam Wilson, 11 Nathan Decalmer; 10 Jacob Fewtrell, 9 Jay West; 1 James Burgoyne, 2 Clarkson McLeod, 3 Stefan Thorp, 4 Ben Meakin, 5 Nick Murphy, 6 Louis Mifsud, 7 Chris Idehen (C), 8 Jonjo Fanning.

Replacements | 16 Ben Pogson, 17 Ryan Smeilus, 18 Lewis Hall, 19 Rhys Williams, 20 Josh Bloomfield.

Latest News