Clarkson McLeod to make first start against Clifton

Clarkson McLeod will make his first start for Bournville in Saturday’s National Two West match against Clifton at Avery Fields (2.30pm).

McLeod arrived from Stourbridge via Old Halesonians in September and has made four appearances as a replacement since arriving at Avery Fields, the most recent in last week’s narrow defeat at Camborne.

Having spent a short spell on loan with Old Halesonians in Regional One Midlands earlier this month, McLeod now starts for Bournville at hooker in a swap with Ollie Stone.

Bournville have made one other change with Rhys Williams starting at fly-half in a switch with Jacob Fewtrell.

Williams returned from an ankle injury as a replacement at Camborne and now joins his brother, Owen, in the starting XV.

Clifton arrive at Avery Fields fifth in the table but on the back of two straight defeats at home to leaders Luctonians last Saturday and at Bristol rivals Old Redcliffians two weeks ago.

Last season Clifton completed a high-scoring double over Bournville, winning 57-28 on their first-ever visit to Avery Fields and 64-40 in the return at Station Road, on their way to finishing third behind Leicester Lions and Dings Crusaders.

Spectators attending Saturday’s match will have the opportunity to donate items to the club’s Christmas collection for the B30 and South Birmingham Foodbank.

A donation point has been set up in the clubhouse where donations will be accepted up to and including Sunday December 10.

All donated items will then be taken to the foodbank’s base in Kings Norton in time to be distributed to those in need in time for Christmas.

To find out more about what urgently-needed and Christmas-specific items are needed, please see Bournville supporting local foodbank this Christmas – Bournville RFC

Bournville | 15 Owen Williams; 14 Alex Evans, 13 Sam Grimshaw, 12 Sam Wilson, 11 Nathan Decalmer; 10 Rhys Williams, 9 Ben Tibbetts; 1 James Burgoyne, 2 Clarkson McLeod, 3 Stefan Thorp, 4 Ben Meakin, 5 Nick Murphy, 6 Ben O’Sullivan, 7 Chris Idehen (C), 8 Jonjo Fanning.

Replacements | 16 Ollie Stone, 17 James Weaver, 18 Louis Mifsud, 19 Jacob Fewtrell, 20 Will Aylen.

Latest News