Back-row pair return to face Exeter University

Back-row forwards Chris Idehen and Jonjo Fanning return for Bournville in Saturday’s National Two West match against Exeter University at Avery Fields (2.30pm).

Openside flanker Idehen and number eight Fanning were both unavailable for last weekend’s narrow defeat at Loughborough Students but come back into the starting XV among six changes to the side.

Will Aylen, who scored Bournville’s bonus point try at Loughborough, will make his first start having impressed off the bench in the last two weeks.

Aylen arrived at Avery Fields during the summer from the Lions sevens team having started his career as a junior at Luctonians.

Jacob Fewtrell returns at fly-half in place of Rhys Williams who hobbled off midway through the second-half last week.

In the pack, Ollie Stone comes in at hooker for his first start of the season after two outings off the bench and Ben O’Sullivan returns from injury to partner Ben Meakin in the second row.

Exeter University surrendered their unbeaten record last Saturday when they were beaten 33-21 at home by Luctonians in a top-of-the-table clash and failed to pick up a point for the first time this season.

Saturday’s match will be only the second time that Bournville have played the students who won 52-36 at Avery Fields last December. The scheduled re-match at Topsham at the end of the season was cancelled as it had no bearing on the final league placings.

Bournville | 15 Owen Williams; 14 Will Aylen, 13 Sam Grimshaw, 12 Sam Wilson, 11 Nathan Decalmer; 10 Jacob Fewtrell, 9 Ben Tibbetts; 1 James Burgoyne, 2 Ollie Stone, 3 Ryan Smeilus (C), 4 Ben O’Sullivan 5 Ben Meakin, 6 Louis Mifsud, 7 Chris Idehen, 8 Jonjo Fanning.

Replacements | 16 James Weaver, 17 Kurtis Payne, 18 Nick Murphy, 19 Ben Pitt, 10 Alex Evans.

Former Stourbridge prop Stefan Thorp will make his club debut for Bournville Blues in their Midlands Reserve League Division One match against Nuneaton at Avery Fields on Saturday (3pm).

Thorp has been sidelined by an ankle injury, which required surgery, since he joined the club during the summer.

Thorp began his career with Dudley Kingswinford then joined Moseley before making more than 150 appearances for Stourbridge in eight years at Stourton Park.

He has also played for Worcester Cavaliers in the Premiership Rugby Shield and has been a regular county player for North Midlands.

Bournville Blues | 15 Ryan O’Neill; 14 Abraham Jones, 13 Josh Bloomfield, 12 Will Tibbetts, 11 Jamie Allison; 10 Joe Nellany, 9 Jack Fitzgerald; 1 Kuba Kijak, 2 Scott Rudge, 3 Stefan Thorp, 4 Matt Spence, 5 Sam Beckford, 6 Harry Belcher, 7 Lewis Hall, 8 Jack Holldaway.

Replacements | 16 Sam Skinner, 17 Kieran McGuire, 18 Dan Marina, 19 Haj Roh.

Latest News